List of Daytona 500 Winners: All Daytona 500 Winners In History

NASCAR Daytona 500 well known as the ‘stock car Super Bowl’ will celebrate its 65th event since its inception in 1959. The 65th event of The Great American Race is set to kick off this weekend on 19th Feb.

Since its inauguration, The Great American Race has been held at the historic Daytona International Speedway running every February of the year. Despite being one of the most valued races in stock car history, the Daytona 500 marks the first point race of the NASCAR Cup Series since 1982.

The race features 200 laps around the 2.5-mile tri-oval track running 500 miles and it’s one of the two Cup Series events held at Daytona International Speedway every year. NASCAR has recorded 47 different winners since its inception with over five drivers taking it more than once.

Richard Petty the son of Lee Petty stands as the only driver to ever win the Daytona 500 seven times including a back-to-back trophy in 1973 and 1974. His father, Lee Petty was the first driver to Daytona 500 in 1959 and Richard Petty went on to win his first win in 1964 then 1966, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1979, and 1981.

Cale Yarborough also did a tremendous job during his era winning the title four times including a back-to-back win in 1983 and 1984. In NASCAR history only four drivers have managed to win two Dayton 500 in a row, Richard Petty in 1973 and 1974, Cale Yarborough in 1983 and 1984, Sterling Marlin in 1994 and 1995, and finally, Denny Hamlin in 2019 and 2020.

Currently, Denny Hamlin is the only active driver who has tasted victory more than twice. Jimmie Johnson has two wins and he will be competing in the upcoming event but he’s currently a part-time driver after retiring in 2020. On top of that, non of the active drivers have ever managed to win a Daytona 500 title and a Championship in the same season. The last driver to accomplish this was Jimmie Johnson who will be running as a part-time driver this season.

Below we analyze the full list of Daytona 500 winners from 1959 to 2022.

List of Daytona 500 Winners: All Daytona 500 Winners In History

Year       Driver                            Starting Position

1959     Lee Petty                             15th
1960    Junior Johnson                  9th
1961     Marvin Panch                    4th
1962    Fireball Roberts                 Pole
1963    Tiny Lund                           12th
1964    Richard Petty                     2nd
1965    Fred Lorenzen                   4th
1966    Richard Petty                     Pole
1967   Mario Andretti                   12th
1968   Cale Yarborough               Pole
1969    LeeRoy Yarbrough           19th
1970    Pete Hamilton                  9th
1971    Richard Petty                     5th
1972   A. J. Foyt                            2nd
1973   Richard Petty                    7th
1974   Richard Petty                    2nd
1975   Benny Parsons                 32nd
1976   David Pearson                  7th
1977   Cale Yarborough              4th
1978   Bobby Allison                   33rd
1979   Richard Petty                   13th
1980  Buddy Baker                    Pole
1981   Richard Petty                   8th
1982  Bobby Allison                    7th
1983   Cale Yarborough             8th
1984   Cale Yarborough            Pole
1985   Bill Elliott                        Pole
1986   Geoffrey Bodine             2nd
1987   Bill Elliott                       Pole
1988   Bobby Allison                3rd
1989   Darrell Waltrip             2nd
1990   Derrike Cope                12th
1991   Ernie Irvan                    2nd
1992   Davey Allison               6th
1993   Dale Jarrett                   2nd
1994   Sterling Marlin            4th
1995   Sterling Marlin            3rd
1996   Dale Jarrett                 7th
1997   Jeff Gordon                  6th
1998   Dale Earnhardt           4th
1999   Jeff Gordon                 Pole
2000  Dale Jarrett                Pole
2001   Michael Waltrip         19th
2002   Ward Burton              19th
2003   Michael Waltrip         4th
2004   Dale Earnhardt Jr.    3rd
2005   Jeff Gordon                 15th
2006   Jimmie Johnson        9th
2007   Kevin Harvick            34th
2008  Ryan Newman            7th
2009   Matt Kenseth              43rd
2010   Jamie McMurray       13th
2011   Trevor Bayne               32nd
2012   Matt Kenseth              4th
2013   Jimmie Johnson        9th
2014   Dale Earnhardt Jr.    9th
2015   Joey Logano               5th
2016   Denny Hamlin           11th
2017   Kurt Busch                  8th
2018   Austin Dillon              14th
2019   Denny Hamlin           10th
2020   Denny Hamlin          39th
2021   Michael McDowell    17th
2022   Austin Cindric          5th


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »